Uh-oh, I just identified my fear, and, my fear looks just like…

ˇˇˇˇ

Like you, I have teachers.

I met with one of my teachers yesterday and described my Pecha Kucha presentation that I’ll deliver this Thursday, August 8 at Tacocat, titled: WHAT AM I AFRAID OF?

So, she started her probe, preparing me with questions, readying my performance. She finally asked me what my fear looks like. She didn’t tell me what SHE thinks it looks like, as she doesn’t know that answer. But she continued pursuit…WHAT DOES MY FEAR LOOK LIKE? If it stood in front of me, hidden under a cloak, what would I see as I lifted the cover.

I took several sincere stabs at answering her, not realizing that she was going way deeper that I understood her question to be. The striking cobra, the loss of a loved one, an accident, poor health…all legitimate sources of fear in our pedestrian life, but none of these attempts would lead to transformation.

Like I said, she didn’t know the answer until I identified it, then she immediately agreed. Under this cloak of fear is…ME!

This epistle opened my eyes wider than my lungs as they sucked in a wave of wind of awareness. ME? Why would I fear myself?
Later in the day, studying and reflecting upon this intrusion to my comfort, I stumbled upon an oft-quoted revelation of Marianne Williamson…“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.”

Who placed the cloak over my fear? How do I go about transforming this fear to love, leaving it uncovered forever?

fear max ink

About orangeacorn

"...I take delight in the juice of the barley, courtin' pretty women in the morning so early..." - "Whiskey in the Jar" Keats couldn't have penned it more poetically. I'm a Columbus, Ohio husband, father and citizen. I practice string band sounds from the ridges of Pocahontas County, West Virginia, the vortex of the ancient drone. My daily work involves community-building, participatory democracy and ego-dissolving. Join us?
This entry was posted in Possitivity: Work for Progress, Self Improvement, The Un-empiracal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Uh-oh, I just identified my fear, and, my fear looks just like…

  1. Rowynn Moon says:

    Well done! I like that quote very much…there is a great deal of truth there.

    Like

  2. Rachael says:

    Wow, what a quote! I completely agree with this, and I think most feminists would find this to be true; what terrifies us most is our own strength and power, not the oppression of others.

    Like

  3. Pingback: writing. more like reading | Diane Fisher, LMT

Leave a Reply

