When do you strategize resolutions for the new year?
Do you intend for these self-improvements to begin January 1?                                12:00:01am?
What is it with this calendar thing so much of humanity worships?

As many do, I operate with this construct, the passage of time, and the planning of our future, using clocks and calendars as an agreeable life hack. Throughout my existence I have fallen submissive to time’s demarcations. In my attempt to both observe and ignore this flight of time’s arrow, I’ll depart tradition and start this annual ritual of my daily life tune-up on December 31.

My son Nathan gifted me Tim Ferriss’ latest publication as a Hanukkah present.

tim-ferriss-tools

As we played our annual family round of dreidel, I rolled a “Gimel,” thus grabbing all the Hanukkahgelt as well as my new copy of Tim’s TOOLS OF TITANS.  This is an accessible collection of interviews with about 120 experts about how they enhance their life performances, how they became, and how they maintain their HEALTHY & WEALTHY & WISE stasis. And upon arriving home that night I began consuming this coaching. A joy for me is that this digest need not be read linearly; one can just pick it up and open at random to a particular post.

I publish this resolution, this promise to myself, now,  explicitly to crystalize the pledge, to put it public, to treat my intention with more resolve.  My capacity for emotional intelligence and my history of behaving indicates that I require personal reminders to stay positive, to keep filling my glass. Returning to a daily habit of reading inspiration off the physically-printed page is my chosen path.

 

 

About orangeacorn

We are, I believe, and everything is, in perpetual unfolding/enfolding/evolving. By surface appearances, we're in turmoil and fearfullness, but in fact our existence is on the edge of a new way, beyond the US versus THEM we have grown with. I encourage you to join me over coffee or tea in face-to-face encounters. I call this exercise, "CAFFEINE COMMUNION: Encounters with Paradigm Pioneers." I'm a Columbus, Ohio husband, father and citizen. I practice string band sounds from the ridges of Pocahontas County, West Virginia, the vortex of the ancient drone.
Link | This entry was posted in Possitivity: Work for Progress, Self Improvement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to re·solve rəˈzälv/

  1. Set small benchmark goals for myself every month for 2017. I’ve been slowing changing my diet and learning to cook in 2016. I now have set monthly forecasted goal for my BMI for 2017. I need to lose about 100 lbs for my health. I’m shooting to lose about 2-3 lbs per month over the next two years. So,. Planning, learning techniques and efficiently. Practice then implement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

